Home » Life » Dealing With Doubt

Dealing With Doubt

Photo by Shahram Sharif (Creative Commons)

I think that all of us, if we’re truly honest with ourselves, have struggled with doubt in our lives at one point or another. I know that I have struggled with self-doubt for a lot of my life. I’ve doubted I was pretty enough, smart enough, Godly enough, worthy enough; doubted whether I was the right person for the job, the list goes on.

As far back as I can remember, I have struggled with feeling less than confident. I remember starting to worry about what others thought of me as early as fifth or sixth grade. My lack of confidence has affected my friendships. I have a hard time opening up and trusting others, fearing they will reject me or be unwilling to look past my past to see the person I truly am. My worry about how others might perceive me has caused me to have a lot of difficulty in introducing myself to new people. That whole “mingle and ask someone you don’t know these 3 questions” thing…yeah, I hate when that happens! My lack of confidence has kept me from pursuing my dreams. I allow the fear of failure or rejection to sneak in, keeping me from making phone calls or approaching others about helping me with a goal in my Mary Kay business. My doubts have truly impacted every area of my life.

I would love to learn how to be more confident. Not cocky, but to have the confidence that God will equip me to do the things to which He has called me. To know that if He has placed a dream in my heart, He will provide the tools needed to accomplish that dream. In Exodus 3:11, we see Moses question whether he is really the right man for the job to which God has called him. Yet, even in the midst of his doubt, God used Moses to bring the Israelites out of slavery in Egypt. I sometimes forget that God uses everyone…the loud, the quiet, the faithful, the adulterer, the rich, the poor. This weekend at church, our pastor said something that really struck me: “It isn’t about what you don’t have, but what you do have.” God knows your unique abilities and talents, and He will use those to bring glory to Himself. He knows my abilities and talents. He also knows my limitations. He knows what He has equipped me to do, and He knows where I would fail miserably. Why do I keep telling Him all the reasons I’m not the right person, instead of seeing what He sees when He looks at me?

In the coming days, I’m planning to explore this topic a little more. I’m using Renee Swope’s 7-Day Doubt Diet as a springboard, but what you’ll read here will be the things the Lord is teaching me through the process.

5 thoughts on “Dealing With Doubt

  1. This article really hit home with me. Thank you for sharing some personal things with us! I look at people (like you) with what look like (and very well may be) close female friendships and wonder 1.how? 2. Why not me? (Meaning why don’t I have those close friendships with others). I too struggle with opening up to people because I see myself as no one spectacular, just “some girl who made a bunch of mistakes” and wonder WHY anyone would be interested in having a close friendship with me. People pay me compliments and I shove them in a hole somewhere thinking if they really knew me they wouldn’t necessarily think that. BUT what if God is using them to help us?? The things they say about me aren’t lies, the self-doubt just has me in a place where I don’t want to get close to someone and have them “go away” or move on to another friendship and leave me in the dust.
    I realize I’ve rambled on enough. Again, thank you for sharing and helping me to see I’m not alone!!!!! I look forward to following your posts….

    • Oh, Roberta! I, too, aml “just some girl who made a bunch of mistakes.” Yes, some of our mistakes are worse than others…but we serve an amazing God who loves us no matter what. I am so proud to be able to call you my friend…just wish we would have kept in touch all those years between high school and facebook! I know what you mean though, about the self-doubt putting you in a place of not wanting to get close for fear of rejection or being left behind. I struggle with that, too. Opening up your heart and learning to trust others, especially if you’ve been hurt in the past, is a hard thing. Close friendships leave you vulnerable…but I’m learning, ever so slowly, that vulnerability isn’t always a bad thing! I’ll be praying for you and for some amazing friendships in your life. You are worth knowing, loving, and being friends with. I hope that we can continue to grow our friendship, even with all the miles between us! ❤

  2. Pingback: Where is Doubt Taking Me? « This is My Journey

Leave a Reply

