Home » Life » Lies…and the Truth that Defeats Them

Lies…and the Truth that Defeats Them

I am currently reading the book You’re Already Amazing by Holley Gerth. It is the current book in the (in)courage Book Club. I found this at the time when I was just beginning my study of self-doubt, so when I realized that the entire book was about finding who I am in Christ, and living out His dreams for me, I knew it was a book I needed to read. I am only three chapters in, and I am LOVING this book! It is speaking to me in ways I never would have imagined. First of all, Holley makes you feel like you are her best friend, that you are truly conversing with her. She is open about her own struggles, while at the same time using her background as a counselor and life coach to help you work through the topics.

Chapter three is all about the lies we allow ourselves to believe. Lies that started in childhood, lies that are often spoken to us, or that we tell ourselves. Lies that we hear often enough that they begin to feel like truth. I am still working through the lies that my heart believes, but one of them is that “No one cares what I have to say, so just sit here quietly and listen to the conversation. You’re not smart enough to really offer anything of value.” OUCH!

What is that lie really saying? It’s telling me that I’m not good enough, or that I don’t have anything of value to offer. Is that true? No! In fact, in Psalm 139:13-14, God tells quite a different story. Those verses say:

For You formed my inward parts

You knitted me together in my mother’s womb.

I praise You for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.

Wonderful are Your works;

my soul knows it very well.

What does God say about me? He says that He formed me, He put me together. I am fearfully and wonderfully made. God doesn’t make mistakes. His works are wonderful. When I doubt who God made me to be, I am questioning His workmanship.

What about the story in John 8:1-11? A woman was brought to Jesus, her accusers ready to stone her. She had been caught in adutery, a serious offense. What did Jesus do? He started to write with His finger in the dirt. We don’t know what exactly He wrote, no one does. I think maybe He was writing their sins? Or maybe He was just writing the Ten Commandments? I have no idea…but I do know that whatever He wrote, along with His call for the sinless to cast the first stone, caused the woman’s accusers to drop their stones and walk away.

A quote from the book that has been sticking with me these past couple of days talks about how we can imagine Jesus writing Truth in the dust when Satan begins to accuse us. Holley says: “The enemy is ready to throw stones at us. In the dust of our hearts, I picture Jesus writing truth that covers those accusing words:

  • Loved
  • Accepted
  • Chosen
  • Mine”

Are these the words that I’m listening to, or am I choosing to listen to the lies that I’m unloved, unaccepted, alone?

I posted about not too long ago, and how our fears play into our doubts. Tonight, I’m thinking that our fears are sparked by the lies that we believe about ourselves. When we begin to replace the lies with Truth from God’s word, we can also begin to live a life without fear. It won’t be easy, but it WILL be worth it!

Leave a Reply

