Home » Life » Finding Your Inner-Artist

Finding Your Inner-Artist

Photo by tsand (Creative Commons)

A couple of weeks ago, I downloaded the Draw Something app on my iPod Touch. Since then, I have struggled to draw accurate portrayals of everything from a worm to the Rugrats (linked for those of you far younger than me who may not remember the show). I have also had to guess some pretty interesting artistic expressions of words like chef, fairy, peacock, and more. This app has been so much fun, but has also caused a little frustration here and there as I try my hardest to draw or guess the given word.

Here’s the funny part, though: I have NEVER considered myself creative, artistic, or to have the ability to draw ANYTHING! Sure, the kids I taught in Kindergarten (and my own 2 1/2 year old daughter) think I can draw an amazing stick person, firetruck, or tree. Ask me to draw something that isn’t a basic shape, however, and you never know what might show up on the page.

Put my lack of artistic ability together with my new-found app addiction, and you can see where I get the title of this post. I have actually drawn some pictures that I’ve been quite proud of…and a few that I wanted to send an “I’m sorry this is so bad…the answer is _______” message along with the image. I wish I would remember to take screenshots of these pictures to share. I’m sure you would get a kick out of them.

Now that I have developed the Draw Something addiction, I guess I’ll have to add it to my list of other app addictions (Words with Friends, anyone?). As if I needed more things to keep my mind off the tasks I need to be doing. This week, I’m going to have to work on setting aside specific times of the day to play my games. Maybe I’ll turn the notifications off so that I don’t get bombarded all day by dings and badges yelling that it’s my turn.

What are your biggest time-stealers? What tips have you found to help you keep your time well-managed?

2 thoughts on “Finding Your Inner-Artist

  1. Pinterest! It’s a time stealer for a lot of people…do you use it? Also, do you use a stylus pen when you play draw-something?! I don’t, but my sister does and she draws ridiculous pictures…

    • I do love Pinterest…but have been trying to spend less time there lately. I find if I don’t keep it open in a tab on my browser, I’m less likely to spend so much time looking through all the amazing things people pin! 🙂 I don’t use a stylus for draw something…I can definitely see how that would make it easier to draw great pictures…but sometimes it’s fun to laugh at how badly my pictures turn out!

Leave a Reply

