Home » Life » Good Friday Reflections

Good Friday Reflections

Photo by Jason St Peter (Creative Commons

I set out this week trying to be intentional in preparing my heart for Easter. I’ll go ahead and confess that by the time we left for church last Sunday, I was so focused on ME that my heart was nowhere near ready for church, communion, or the week ahead. Sadly, I have done very little all week to actively pursue Christ. Just being gut-level honest with you, here.

Today is Good Friday, the day we remember Christ being hung on the cross as a sacrifice for each of us. As I sit here in my comfortable house, watching my daughter play, I can’t get the song “In Christ Alone” out of my head…this verse in particular:

Til on that cross as Jesus died
The wrath of God was satisfied
For every sin on Him was laid
Here in the death of Christ I live

There, on the cross, Jesus Christ died in my place so that I could have eternal life with Him. WOW! He loves us that much!

I was given plenty of opportunity to really ponder God’s love today as well. It was a rough day with my 2 year old. She has been battling bedtime like crazy over the last few weeks, and today she decided to bring that fight to her nap. After a 20 minute fight to get her to sleep, she slept for just 20 minutes before I suddenly heard her yell out, “I LIKE VEGGIETALES!!” Umm…what??? And, apparently, she thought that the 20 minutes of sleep was all she needed for the day. I continued to try to get her to sleep for another 45 minutes before giving up completely.

It was during those 45 minutes, as I prayed for wisdom, guidance, and peace for my daughter, that I began to feel the Lord speaking to my heart. I began to see the parallel of my relationship with Him to my daughter’s relationship with me. I love my daughter with everything that I have. It is an unconditional love, one that wants what is best for her. That love, however, does not stop me from becoming frustrated when she repeatedly disobeys me or fights what I know is best for her. God loves us unconditionally, vastly more than I can even begin to imagine, and wants what is best for us. He KNOWS us better than we know ourselves. Yet, we fight what He knows is best for us and we disobey Him daily. Here’s the HUGE difference: I most often sin in my frustration with my daughter. I yell, I grumble, I complain. I call my husband to vent. I rant to a friend. What does God do? He forgives. He loves anyway. He disciplines out of love, not out of anger. He corrects. He sends His only Son to be the sacrifice to atone for my sin. He washes me with the blood of Calvary. He gives me LIFE.

Leave a Reply

